“Dream Circus”


Front cover finalAlbum liner notes:

Thank you for getting hold of “Dream Circus” which is my third album as a bandleader, and the one I am by far the proudest of so far. There are many reasons why I wanted to base the title of the album on dreams. As is the case for many musicians in their late twenties, the last few years have been very important for me as I have been gradually establishing my career and slowly figuring out (sometimes the hard way) what my dreams are for the future. Almost all the tracks on the album were written during particularly eventful times for me personally and feel part of an intricate musical story. Also I have always been very fascinated by the mysterious and psychedelic nature of the dreams we dream at night, and each track on this album can be heard as a statement or an individual dream as well as a story.

Although I am proud of the nine compositions that I wrote for this album, none of them would have been brought to life and be in their existing state now without the dedication and commitment from my wonderful band. I would like to thank Scott, Jim, Liam, Matt and Sam from the bottom of my heart for sticking by me for all these years and for all the touring we have done performing my music. Since we recorded my last album we have performed over forty shows, and the amount we have travelled and performed in such a wide range of different places with so much fun, playful, rough and spontaneous energy reminds me of a traveling circus company.

I would like to thank Jasper Høiby for producing this album with so much positive energy and for totally transforming the sound of the band for the better in every way during our most enjoyable three days recording in Copenhagen last September. It is an honour for me that you were straight away keen to be involved in this project. I would also like to thank: August Wanngren for engineering and mixing this album with so much skill, ease, patience and speed – literally every part of this project that has involved you has been so simple; BBC Radio 3 for inviting me to be on the New Generation Artists’ scheme for two years and for generously funding part of this album recording as a result of that; Donal Whelan for once again mastering this album to such a high standard; and to Dave Stapleton and everyone at Edition Records for once again putting their trust in my music and for all the hard work that is currently going into the album release and artwork.

“Stillness”, “Little Astronaut” and “Blue Deer” were written for and are dedicated to Benin who left us in September 2018. I love you so much, still think of you every day, and hope you’re doing alright up there…


Misha Mullov-Abbado double bass       James Davison trumpet & flugelhorn       Matthew Herd alto saxophone

Sam Rapley tenor saxophone       Liam Dunachie piano & Hammond organ       Scott Chapman drums

Rob Luft electric guitar drone on track 5

Jasper Høiby producer         August Wanngren engineer & mixing        Donal Whelan mastering

Jake Dubber digital art        Oli Bentley album artwork/span>


1. Some Things Are Just So Simple 8.46
2. Equinox 8.16
3. Little Vision 7.16
4. The Infamous Grouse 4.43
5. Seven Colours 11.52
6. Stillness 5.01
7. Little Astronaut 3.51
8. The Bear 6.32
9. Blue Deer 8.44

Recorded at The Village Recording in Copenhagen.